BMW M2 and 2-Series Coupe
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
home
BMW M2 Forums 2023+ (G87) BMW M2 G87 General Topics

03-04-2024, 09:45 AM   #1
KindaSortaTerrible
Rep
Drives: 21 Civic Type R

Anyone else find manual gearing to be suboptimal for city driving?

New G87 driver here, coming from a Civic Type R. For context, the type R was my first manual and I put around 17k miles on it, and I’ve put less than 1k miles on the M2. So, I’m still a noob manual driver.

That said, so far the manual gearing seems better suited to speed and not really to stop and go city driving. Clutch is kinda weird when getting into first, hard to get that 1-2 gear shift smooth (although I’m getting there), and it can be hard to find the appropriate gear for low low speed traffic. 1st gear can be a bit jerky with heavy engine braking, as expected, but I feel like I’m lugging the engine a bit at really low speeds in 2nd gear. In fact I almost stalled entering my parking garage at work yesterday.

What do you guys think?
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2024, 10:37 AM   #2
LCDRJohn
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: 2019 Porsche GT3

I feel that first gear is a bit short. (but for performance, not smoothness)

The biggest issue is that by the time you reach redline, the boost is only just building....and then you have to shift. It is probably why the G80 auto starts in second gear.

Second gear is fine. Maybe also a tad short, but otherwise good. For autocross, you need second to hit 70 or so to not be ridiculous. But honestly, I don't really have any issue with urban driving and the 6-speed. I never lug/chug/stall are have a glitchy 1-2 shift. My tranny is smooth as butter.

Little 4 bangers like the Civic have huge amounts of rev hang and heavy flywheels, so they feel smoother at low speeds, My Golf R was smooth as butter too.
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2024, 11:30 AM   #3
Geighty7
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2024 BMW M2

Quote:
Originally Posted by KindaSortaTerrible View Post