home
BMW 2 Series Technical Topics (G42) Suspension / Brakes / Chassis

08-19-2024, 01:47 PM   #1
TopG42
M-Lite Enjoyer
Rep
Drives: G42 M240i

Need good setup

I am looking into getting lowering springs and possibly spacers for my stock setup. I have a rwd g42 (225 in the front and 255 in the rear) anyone else with the same factory setup that has suspension suggestions?

This is my first time doing anything suspension related so I don't really know if I need to do anything to support the lowering springs like new struts etcs...
Appreciate 0
      08-21-2024, 09:17 AM   #2
TopG42
M-Lite Enjoyer
Rep

Bump
Appreciate 0
      08-22-2024, 12:33 PM   #3
Pentland
Colonel
Rep
Drives: BMW M240i (G42)

Depends on what you want to achieve.

Most will put spacers on - plenty threads already so search. They are for aesthetics only.
Others will add Eibach springs for lowering purposes, again aesthetics, but they also have the advantage of stiffening the suspension system giving less roll in the corners and some say that “transforms” the car. That said, if your goal is to reduce roll, it’s roll bars you should look at.
Appreciate 1
TopG4228.00
      08-22-2024, 01:02 PM   #4
TopG42
M-Lite Enjoyer
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pentland View Post
Depends on what you want to achieve.

Most will put spacers on - plenty threads already so search. They are for aesthetics only.
Others will add Eibach springs for lowering purposes, again aesthetics, but they also have the advantage of stiffening the suspension system giving less roll in the corners and some say that “transforms” the car. That said, if your goal is to reduce roll, it’s roll bars you should look at.
I looked into rollbars and saw one option but it only fits the g42 without a sun roof and mine happens to have one ;(. Guessing sunroof in general changes the chassis rigidity since it disrupts the roof surface? I will keep looking into springs then. I really want to achieve sharper handling at higher speeds