E90Post

The Tire Rack

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > You learn more when you break stuff AM I RIGHT? Broke my battery hold down bolt

05-15-2020, 09:24 PM   #1
pjr710
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 335i

You learn more when you break stuff AM I RIGHT? Broke my battery hold down bolt

OK so it's my first time replacing my battery. I got a huge H8.

I also realized that my vent tube hose was gone. My battery compartment was dusty as shit and i never understood why, but now I know - its b/c i had a hole directly to the underside of my car where the grommet and vent tube hose is supposed to go.

Anyway my hold down bolt was a little rusty (not awful) and I kept tightening it, and bam it snapped.

Now my battery is in, but I don't have a hold down on it.

What are some options? I really don't feel like taking the battery out again.

I was thinking of using a strap to try and shimmy it under the battery platform and tie it on top of the batter (assuming i can run a strap underneath).

This is what i snapped

Appreciate 0
      05-15-2020, 10:54 PM   #2
gbalthrop
Brigadier General
Rep
Drives: 2007 328xi E91

Quote:
Originally Posted by pjr710 View Post
... my first time replacing my battery. I got a huge H8. [Almost Certain your 335i came with H8 from factory, but a lot of people "cheap out" and use an H7 or smaller, which uses a different hole for the hold-down clamp bolt.]
Anyway my hold down bolt was a little rusty (not awful) and I kept tightening it, and bam it snapped.
"Just a Thought, NOT a Sermon":

1) Fix it in a "Professional Manner"
2) Cars get OLD fast when "Duct Tape & Baling Wire" approach is allowed to BEGIN
3) If you don't already have them, get a cheap tap & die set from HFT, some screw extractors with Left Hand Drill Bits, and a Can of penetrating Oil.