BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
home
BMW 2 Series Forums (G42) Photos, Videos and Builds

02-19-2022, 04:51 PM   #1
giolanzarin
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: BMW M240i

Just washed my M240i. Technique / equipment tips?

This is the first car I've cared enough to keep clean and wash by hand. I'm still learning the right process to wash it perfectly and drying it the proper way. If anyone has any tips or equipment they use to wash their car please leave them below. I particularly struggle with removing the excess dirt.
Attached Images

Appreciate 4
      02-19-2022, 06:16 PM   #2
ryo-
First Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: '22 MWM M240i

I would recommend a pressure washer with the two bucket method. I am sometimes lazy and depending on how dirty the car is, I will just use 1 bucket with grit guard. I currently use "Adams Wash & Wax" soap as well as Meguiars Hybrid Ceramic Wax (spray). I feel that the current combo works well together as well as saves on time. I used to put on Carnuba paste wax but that takes forever and I like the Meguiars products so far.

buy a good waffle weave microfiber towel and a good microfiber mitt to wipe down the car. I use The Rag Company for my towels (personal preference).
Appreciate 1
      02-20-2022, 07:18 AM   #3
Nicolas05
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: BMW g42 M240i

Search obessed garage on youtube… a bit obsessed and not the nicest guy, but the greatest car cleaning company…
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2022, 08:56 AM   #4
FeckinSpaceman
Captain
Rep
Drives: 22' M240i

Garage List
2022 BMW M240i  [0.00]
I personally like the Chemical Guys... lots of good products and plenty of helpful video tutorials on how to use different products and proper care.
https://www.chemicalguys.com/

Basic Rules!
1. Don't ever go through automatic car washes.... ever
2. Use multiple buckets, keep a separate wheel bucket (and tools) from your paint bucket
3. Don't drop your sponge, mitt, towel etc... if you do, use a new one!