bimmerpost/
BMW M2 and 2-Series Coupe
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
home
BMW 2 Series Technical Topics (G42) Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Bolt-ons / Tuning

05-10-2022, 08:06 PM   #1
applecst
First Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: G42 M240i

M240 Stock Exhaust system

Hi all, I'm new to the performance car world. Came across the valved exhaust system concept Today. Just wondering if our m240 has this? Also, if I were to upgrade the stock exhaust, will this have an impact? TIA!
      05-10-2022, 08:29 PM   #2
Brett_C_F30_G42
Second Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2022 BMW M240i

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by applecst View Post
Hi all, I'm new to the performance car world. Came across the valved exhaust system concept Today. Just wondering if our m240 has this? Also, if I were to upgrade the stock exhaust, will this have an impact? TIA!
The M240i does have an active valve exhaust. It is on the right-hand side and opens/closes depending on your driving mode. Also depends on what you mean by upgrading your exhaust. If you change out the muffler in the back then yes cause the valve is after the muffler. If you just do a downpipe or midpipes then it doesn't affect the active valve exhaust.
Appreciate 0
      05-10-2022, 11:51 PM   #3
applecst
First Lieutenant
United_States
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brett_C_F30_G42 View Post
Quote:
The M240i does have an active valve exhaust. It is on the right-hand side and opens/closes depending on your driving mode. Also depends on what you mean by upgrading your exhaust. If you change out the muffler in the back then yes cause the valve is after the muffler. If you just do a downpipe or midpipes then it doesn't affect the active valve exhaust.
Ah Thanks! Just that I was thinking about getting something to make it sounds more aggressive. I feel like the stock exhaust does not sound as good as the supra although they share the same engine. Also wanted to fit a quad tip haha