bimmerpost/
BMW M2 and 2-Series Coupe
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
home
BMW 2 Series Technical Topics (G42) Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Bolt-ons / Tuning

05-19-2023, 12:03 PM   #1
ILikeBimmers
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: (G42) m240ix

Garage List
Lightbulb Help finding chicago-land FEMTO service

Hi everyone, newbie here.

I was hoping to find a tuning shop faciliating FEMTO cloning/unlocking in-person close to the north-western area of Chicago. I'm aware that the price would probably be fairly high for something like this.

I've been able to find some places offering a "FEMTO service" but they're in totally different states. I tried explicitly searching for "Illinois" on google, but no dice.

I'm looking into to FEMTO cloning/unlocking for a G42 2023 M240 and I'm thinking of minimizing downtime and risk by having a shop perform the removal of the ECU, as well as the insurance/support/etc. when sending it over to finland. I'm thinking of going with MHD, b/c the universal adapter works with xHP, but I may go with a custom tune at some point. Haven't really looked into the ECU to purchase for FEMTO cloning, but based on information floating around it seems if you buy a pre-2020 one you can update it without it relocking (?). Seems you can just do the pre-2020 bench unlock even if that previous statement is untrue.

Most of the information I've been able to gather about ECU tuning post 2020 bmw's have come from various posts here, so I thought this might be a good place to ask.

Also apparently BMW removed the pops and bangs from the ECU map for newer cars and that's kind of sad.
Appreciate 0
      05-19-2023, 12:31 PM   #2
Rdurty2
Captain
Rep
Drives: 2022 M240i

Your choices are going be very limited, and chances are you will have to ship your ECU out of state to a tuner that will handle shipping to Femto