E90Post

Extreme Powerhouse

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > New Manual Driver - How Easy is BMW to Drive Manual

08-18-2006, 10:02 PM   #1
newbiebimmer
Rep
Drives: Benz

New Manual Driver - How Easy is BMW to Drive Manual

Hi All,

I really love this board it has given me a lot of insight and I will soon be a new BMW owner in about 3 weeks, ordered 330i w SP, PP, manual, AW, can't wait. After years of being an automatic driver I have decided with this car that I get a manual problem is that I never have and the last thing that I want to do is pick up my car and embarass the @#$#$ out of myself. Thankfully a friend of mine is willing to take me out over the next few weeks to get me familiar with stick shifting, but I was wondering if the manual on Bimmers are easier, better or driver friendly than other vehicles and secondly how long should a new driver like myself pick things up providing I get the right practice in beforehand. What I'm thinking is get behind my friend's manual car as much as possible and then go back and test drive a 330i before I actually pick my baby up. Any advice or thoughts on how long most of you took to get comfortable with their e90's stick and has stalling it been a big deal. I just hear that initially the clutch and tranny will be stiff and tight until break in but how much more difficult would this make for driving for a new manual driver like myself. Thanks everyone!
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2006, 10:11 PM   #2
froman
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: 2008 550i Sport Space Gray