home
BMW M2 Forums 2023+ (G87) Wheels | Tires | Suspension | Brakes | Chassis

03-24-2024, 04:20 AM   #1
turnsignalslol
Captain
Rep
Drives: '24 G87 M2

Lowering Springs DIY Difficulty?

I want to get H&R Sport Springs and install them over the summer once I have time but I’m stuck between taking it to a shop versus taking a shot at it myself.

I’ve never done any suspension work before and am wondering if it’s easy for someone relatively inexperienced to do. The hardest thing I’ve probably done on a car was a midpipe install on my F87.

I’m thinking if I learn how to do it at home, it’ll not only save me money but I’ll know how to put it back to stock when I want to sell the car years down the line. Am I overthinking it? If there’s a good change I can fuck it up I’d rather just take it to a shop.

Opinions are appreciated, thanks

Past: 2022 330i RWD
2020 M2 Competition DCT
Appreciate 0
      03-24-2024, 08:41 AM   #2
RockCrusher
Major
United_States
Rep
Drives: BMW 2023 ZB M2 6-speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by turnsignalslol View Post
I want to get H&R Sport Springs and install them over the summer once I have time but I’m stuck between taking it to a shop versus taking a shot at it myself.

I’ve never done any suspension work before and am wondering if it’s easy for someone relatively inexperienced to do. The hardest thing I’ve probably done on a car was a midpipe install on my F87.

I’m thinking if I learn how to do it at home, it’ll not only save me money but I’ll know how to put it back to stock when I want to sell the car years down the line. Am I overthinking it? If there’s a good change I can fuck it up I’d rather just take it to a shop.

Another owner posted about swapping springs (to lower the car) and breaking a connector on top of the strut and is probably facing having to replace a very expensive part (strut?) to get a new connector.

Thread:

https://g87.bimmerpost.com/forums/sh....php?t=2088321