BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > General M3 Forum (E90 + E92 + E93)

Mporium BMW

12-24-2016, 08:56 AM   #1
Jay-K
Brigadier General
Indonesia
Rep
Drives: Slow

Best way for storage

Hi,

I am posting this to get some guidance from people who frequently store their cars.

I am currently studying in the us, but my car is back in my home country. I am only home for twice a year during short winter break and long summer.

I'd like to know is it best to cover it up, put some sta bil for the fuel and charge the battery with c tek.. and just leave it unstarted for 5 months?

Or to go through the hastle to get somebody start the car up for like every 6 weeks ? However i wont be able to guarantee its going to be covered and charged .. ?

I just wanted to know the risk of keeping a car unstarted for period of 5-6 months.. what kind of side effects might come with it.

And for some of you who have better suggestion and ideas, all welcome.. thank you
      12-24-2016, 09:20 AM   #2
///M Power-Belgium
General
Belgium
Rep
Drives: ///M3-E92-DCT Silverstone II

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay-K View Post
Hi,

I am posting this to get some guidance from people who frequently store their cars.

I am currently studying in the us, but my car is back in my home country. I am only home for twice a year during short winter break and long summer.

I'd like to know is it best to cover it up, put some sta bil for the fuel and charge the battery with c tek.. and just leave it unstarted for 5 months?

Or to go through the hastle to get somebody start the car up for like every 6 weeks ? However i wont be able to guarantee its going to be covered and charged .. ?

I just wanted to know the risk of keeping a car unstarted for period of 5-6 months.. what kind of side effects might come with it.

And for some of you who have better suggestion and ideas, all welcome.. thank you