Autotalent
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Forum > M3 / M4 Photos and Videos

02-28-2017, 01:49 PM   #1
Slimjim8201
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2017 F80 - 6MT YMB

First M Car - Introduction and Initial Impressions

I always liked reading reviews from new owners. Even when a lot the talking points at the same, slight differences in perspective lead to unique thoughts. Here are mine:

Right before Christmas, I placed an order for an F80 M3. I had been driving an 2009 SBM E92 328i for a little over 6 years and with a third kid on the way, I needed something with 4 doors and the ability to go three wide with carseats in the back. Financially, we were lucky enough to have the M3 as an option. After many years of planting seeds for the idea with my wife, I got the green-light and locked in a mid-January allocation. The build started on 1-10 and finished production on 1-20. I took delivery at my local dealer on 2-17.

The outgoing 328i was a peach. I loved this car and always thought of it as an underpowered M3 with better weight distribution. Everything just worked. Never had a problem with anything. It was sporty enough. It was comfortable enough. I even put two kids in the back…one of them rear facing. Pause and wrap your head around that for a second. Running costs were minimal. The only thing I had done out of warranty was replacement of a belt tensioner at around 70,000 miles and even that was only a few hundred bucks. The engine was so damned smooth that on more than one occasion, after some spirited driving, I found myself cruising on the highway for over half an hour in 5th gear instead of 6th. Buttery smooth. I always liked the fact that this engine was one of the last (if not the last) non-turbocharged inline sixes to be built by BMW. One of the best all-purpose vehicles I've ever driven. Fun to flog and still returned about 30 MPG on a highway trip and 24 MPG around town.