BMW X5 and X6 Forum 2014-Current
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

10-05-2018, 08:45 PM   #1
jelt110
Private
Rep
Drives: 2014 3.5x w/RC RS; M sport

Cosmetic brake work- paint/caliper 'manicure'?

Cleaning up my brakes-

I looks like I have fairly new disks and pads, but the calipers are from 2014- and a bit of rust.

On my old FXT (Subaru), I wire-brushed the surfaces, and painted them with caliper paint. Looked better than it was, but not 'race chic'...

Three questions:

1: Any caveats or issues with the x5's disk brakes I should know about specifically?

(I'm an engineer, polymath, professor, machinist, & pilot, but not a true gearhead.- I can repair, rebuild & bleed brakes, but not as 'swish' as a pro. I have most of the general tools needed, but no BMW specific- and i am brand new to BMW.)

2: What is the difference between engine paint and brake caliper paint? They both should withstand 500°F heat, and have some chemical resistance. Any other differences?

3: I have the "Black Sapphire" color with tinted windows, the M-Sport wheels are silver (probably tint them a darker silver. Any color schemes come to mind?

I'm thinking of making the existing disc hubs which are silver now into a Metallic black or dark metal/silver; the rusty calipers, a medium silver; but then a few parts are left over which could have a highlight or trim colour.

I saw on a release something about a "BMW performance blue" for brakes. Is this a metallic?

I do not want to try to make the stock calipers look like race calipers by painting them, but I would like to clean them up and make them look better than .... ummm.. rust?

So again, any suggestions, ideas, even stuff NOT to do- because it looks bad or is a bad idea- I'd love to hear.

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2018, 10:23 PM   #2
Maverik259
Major General
United_States
Rep
Drives: F90 M5 / F15 50i

Garage List
2020 BMW M5  [10.00]
2014 X5 50i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by jelt110 View Post
Cleaning up my brakes-