BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > General M3 Forum (E90 + E92 + E93)

EXXEL Distributions

11-15-2008, 08:41 AM   #1
Redadair
Major
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2011 1M #293 - 88 E30 M3

Shifting back to Park with DCT

I just looked at a White e92 M3 at my local dealer. The car is equipped with the DCT, the first E92 that I have seen this way. The SA suggested that I start the car which I did. The sound of the engine is great. I noticed that the car showed P on the dash, I am assuming this means the car was in Park. I put my foot on the brake pedal and tried shifting using the center consol knob. Now I must admit this is my first time using this shift knob, but I could not figure out how to put the car back in Park.

Can anyone with the DCT explain how this is done? I ended up shifting into R and turning off the car while I kept a firm foot hold on the breaks.

Red
August 8th ED (#293 of 739 or 740)
88 E30 M3 100% OEM 73K Miles
02 E39 M5 Le Mans Blue 50K Miles
06 E46 M3 ZCP 58K Miles
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2008, 08:48 AM   #2
Redadair
Major
United_States
Rep

I ran a search prior to posting this. However I now see a prior post to mine. Good thing I am not the only one who is wondering about this.

Red
06 E46 M3 ZCP 58K Miles
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2008, 09:23 AM   #3
jamesisel
Major
United_States
Rep
Drives: '09 Jerez/Fox Red E92 M3

Eisenmann Race Performance/VRS front lip 1x1/VRS type II diffuser 1x1/VRS single side trunk with Fade/19" HRE C90's/RE SSK/H&R Sport springs /35% tint/Painted reflectors/Painted side markers with dark tint LED's/Tinted tail lights/Front grilles/Hardwire V1
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2008, 09:30 AM   #4
Buschy
Colonel
Rep
Drives: F80 M3

So did you figure it out?
It goes into park when you push the start/stop button
      11-15-2008, 11:19 AM   #5
MysticBlue
Lieutenant Colonel
Rep
Drives: '20 M5C, '09 M3 DCT Coupe