BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > General M3 Forum (E90 + E92 + E93)

Mporium BMW

11-08-2022, 07:22 AM   #1
PRS
Rep
Drives: BMW, Porsche, AMG

Handling of the E93 M3 Convertible

Having owned my E93 M3 convertible for a few months now, I've noticed that the handling is better with the top up. (for context, I have a lot of track experience and am an 'advanced' driver and have multiple Porsches)

With the top down, the car has a tendency to understeer and needs a lot of trailbraking to help it turn. I assume that this is largely because putting the top down shifts the weight balance towards the back of the car, thus less grip at the front.

With the top down, I've also noticed that the handling of the car isn't great when braking hard and late and then trailbraking, as one would do on a race track. This could partly be due to the understeer, but I think that twisting of the car under that transient load could also be a factor, resulting in the dampers getting confused (I have EDC) and the front of the car not staying planted. It seems like putting the top up would stiffen the car, since the roof is metal and locks into the A-pillars.

What are your experiences with the handling of the car, top up versus top down?

Does the car have adjustable sway bars, so that the balance can be made more neutral with the top down? (yes, I know that may make the car slightly understeery with the top up)

How does the handling of the convertible (top up) compare with the coupe/sedan? I know the convertible is more than 400 pounds heavier and likely not as stiff, but most of the extra weight should be at the bottom of the car, so the convertible may not have much of a penalty in terms of center of gravity height, and acceleration of the convertible is plenty fast for me.
Appreciate 1
M3E9355.50
      11-08-2022, 08:36 AM   #2
roastbeef
Lieutenant General
United_States
Rep
Drives: E92 M3