Coby Wheel
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Forum > BMW M3 (F80) and BMW M4 (F82) General Forum

05-31-2023, 11:15 PM   #1
1heckinboi
caffeine fiend
Rep
Drives: M4

Future owner - questions

Hey all,

In the next coming months I am planning on hopefully picking up either an M3 or M4 and was curious about a few things. I am new to BMW and this will also be my first German car so I'd like to get some expectations and insight.

All of my cars have been Japanese, a Subaru WRX, a Honda Civic Type R, Lexus GS350, Mitsubishi Lancer. Except currently I am driving a C6 Corvette that I am selling this weekend.

Personally I would like to get the M3 over the M4 but with popularity and supply I am actually finding the M4 to be a little cheaper and more readily available, i don't think in the end i would be displeased if I had to get the M4, but coming from the Corvette I learned I really hate having the longer door, and just on the Corvette it is a pain to get in and out of.

Is there anything I need to look for in these cars?
Appreciate 1
cotmfk2058.50
      06-01-2023, 07:46 AM   #2
b_w.
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: F80 M3

I like the lines of the 4 door better...but I am biased. Also more fun when you are passing guys on the track and your car seats are still buckled in the back.
Appreciate 6
Kilabyte3949.00
spidy512502.00
agentrnge383.50
Llarry16561.50
      06-01-2023, 09:30 AM   #3
cotmfk
Major General
Rep
Drives: M3

Best of luck with your search. Do you already have one picked out?

The M3 is more expensive than M4, as you noted. It's twofold: (1) more M4s were made than M3 (more years of production, plus I think more were M4 per year); and (2) having four doors makes the car more usable to more people.

I had M4 before and M3 now. They (obviously) drive very similarly, but there are some subtle differences in the way it feels.